The alarm went off this morning, and I almost laughed at it as I rolled over and slammed by hand down on the Snooze button. I was supposed to get up and go to the gym bright and early this morning, but instead, I snuggled deeper under the covers and resumed sleep time for a bit longer. I haven’t slept that well this week, thanks to my husband having allergy problems one night (he kept sniffling, then running to the bathroom for Kleenex), and yesterday they started a huge construction project in my apartment complex. Guys in big dump trucks were outside my window until after 10pm last night digging and banging around, then they resumed after 5am this morning. I guess they don’t sleep much either!

So, where was I? Oh yes, I was being a delinquent from the gym, and had crawled back under the covers to regain another hour of beauty rest. By the time the alarm went off again, my husband had already left for work, and I was alone to lay quietly and wake up on my own terms. Usually I am a morning person and just bound out of bed at the first sound of the alarm, but when I’m this tired, I take my time and really have to allow my body adjust to the thought of physically climbing out of bed.

As I laid there this morning, stretching my limbs, the first thought that came to mind was “I love my bed!” I mean I REALLY love my bed. I have one of those Sealy Posturpedic knock offs, you know, the kind that have the memory foam so when you lay down on it, it practically forms a perfect mold around your body. My husband and I had picked it just a few years ago. I was all about a cheaper mattress and was quite hesitant to spend such a large amount of money on a mattress I thought to be “for old people with back pain.” But after lying on every mattress the store had to offer, he was able to sway my mind into believing that this mattress would give us the most bountiful sleep of our lives, so I was car-sales-manned into purchasing this particular mattress.

Ever since the day that mattress was laid onto the box springs on my bed frame, I haven’t regretted a penny that we spent on it. This mattress is seriously magical. When I lay down on it, I can be wide awake after a can of Diet Coke, and within minutes it will lull me to sleep. I swear it has temperature regulations built into it. I tend to be the warmer of the two of us, and I somehow manage to stay cool even with the 10 blankets my husband has thrown over us in the middle of summer. Even my dreams have been better and more positive since sleeping in this bed.

The bed is where I go when I want to relax and read. It is where I go if I just want to kick back by myself when my husband’s friends come over and watch war movies or world kick-box fighting championships. The comfort it brings me is like a security blanket to a small child, I never want to be detached from it whenever possible. If someone were to ask me, “If you had to spend the rest of your life at one place on earth, where would it be?” I would certainly answer, “In my bed.”

Today’s simplest pleasure:

Never underestimate the power of a comfortable mattress.